Relive Pakistan’s historic World T20 triumph on this day

Afridi Malik 2009 Pakistan 2



Sports – Posted: Jun 21, 2020 | Last Updated: 11 hours ago

Posted: Jun 21, 2020 | Last Updated: 11 hours ago

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) celebrated Pakistan’s historic World T20 triumph when they won the final against Sri Lanka on this day in 2009 at Lord’s.

Younis Khan’s men were in control right from the off when
Muhammad Amir dismissed Tillakaratne Dilshan in the very first over of the

The Men in Green kept dismissing batsmen at regular
intervals but Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara’s fighting 64 not out off 52
deliveries helped the side get to a defendable 138-6, with the legendary
left-hander finding some good support from Angelo Mathews (35 off 24).

Abdul Razzaq was the best bowler on the night, claiming 3-20
in his three overs.

Pakistan went off to a solid start and cruised to the target
thanks to Shahid Afridi’s unbeaten 54 off 40 deliveries.

The Men in Green claimed their first title in the 19th
over for the loss of just two wickets to claim their maiden World T20 title.  








Author: ApnayOnline is an oline news portal which aims to provide latest trendy news around the Asia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *