Rahul to lead for South Africa ODIs after Rohit injury

Untitled 1 4

Indian opener KL Rahul will lead the ODI team in South Africa, national selectors said, after newly-appointed white-ball captain Rohit Sharma failed to recover from a hamstring injury.

Rohit was
injured only days after being named India’s ODI captain in December, a
promotion which completed his limited-overs captaincy takeover from Virat

Star batsman
Kohli, who stood down from the T20 job, was later sacked from the 50-over
format leadership.

The Board of
Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said Friday that Rohit was “ruled out
owing to an injury” and announced the 18-man squad for the three-match
series starting January 19 with pacer Jasprit Bumrah as vice-captain. 

As India
regulars across all three formats of the game, both Rahul, 29, and Bumrah, 28,
are seen by many as future leaders to replace Sharma, 33, and the 33-year-old
Kohli, who still leads the national Test team.

Squad: KL
Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar
Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y
Chahal, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar,
Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Author: desi123

Desi123.com is an online news portal that aims to provide the latest trendy news for Asians living in Asia and around the World.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *