Brahmanbaria AL leader murder: 13 sentenced to death, 8 get life term

google news.svg

In the case filed over the murder of Zahirul Haque, a businessman from Jagat Bazar in Brahmanbaria and general secretary of Natai Dakkhin Union’s ward no. 5 unit of Awami League, a court has sentenced 13 men to death and eight to life imprisonment.

Judge Abu Zafar Md Kamruzzaman of the Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 of Dhaka announced the verdict today.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star’s Google News channel.

The 13 convicts given death sentence are: Bosu Miah, Kabir Miah, Mokhles, Sacchu Miah, Jahangir Miah, Shohibur Rahman Shukki, Liaquat Ali, Younus Miah, Rahmat Ullah alias Fariaz Miah, Shithil Ahmed alias Fahim Ahmed, Saiful, Pavel, and Ali Miah.

The eight given life imprisonment are: Nurul Islam, Habibur Rahman, Rasel, Maju Miah, Golap Miah, Sohel Miah, Shahjahan, and Borhan alias Ruhan. At the same time, they have to pay a fine of Tk 50,000.

According to the case statement, on November 14, 2016, Zahirul Haque was returning to his village home from Brahmanbaria town in a CNG-run auto-rickshaw. At the time, the accused attacked Zahirul and seriously injured him. The auto-rickshaw driver was also injured by the accused. Later that night, at 8:30pm, Zahirul died at Brahmanbaria Sadar Hospital.

Kabir Hossain, Zahirul’s younger brother, filed a murder case with the Brahmanbaria Sadar Police Station.

The case’s investigating officer filed a charge sheet against 21 accused persons. Sixteen of the accused are in jail, while the remaining five are on the run.

Author: desi123 is an online news portal that aims to provide the latest trendy news for Asians living in Asia and around the World.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *