Australia-New Zealand T20 World Cup final in numbers


Australia will face
New Zealand in the blockbuster T20 World Cup final on Sunday at the Dubai
International Stadium.


Top scorer at 2021 T20 World Cup: David Warner – 236

Top wicket taker at 2021 T20 World Cup: Adam Zampa – 12

Path to final

Super 12

Beat South Africa by 5 wickets

Beat Sri Lanka by 7 wickets

Lost to England by 8 wickets

Beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets

Beat West Indies by 8 wickets


Beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

New Zealand

Top scorer at 2021 T20 World Cup: Daryl Mitchell – 197

Top wicket taker at 2021 T20 World Cup: Trent Boult – 11

Path to final

Super 12

Lost to Pakistan by 5 wickets

Beat India by 8 wickets

Beat Scotland by 16 runs

Beat Namibia by 52 runs

Beat Afghanistan by 8 wickets


Beat England by 5 wickets

T20s head-to-head:

Australia wins: 9

New Zealand wins: 5 (includes win on one-over eliminator
after tied match)

First T20 International meeting

February 17, 2005, Auckland

Not only the first ever T20 between the two neighbours but
the first ever men’s international to be played in the format.

Australia won by 44 runs in front of 30,000 fans at Eden
Park after making 214-5 in their 20 overs.

Captain Ricky Ponting top-scored with an unbeaten 98 off 55
balls with eight fours and five sixes.

Michael Kasprowicz then took 4-29 to steer the Australians
to victory despite a fighting 66 by Scott Styris.

“There’s obviously still a lot of work to do in terms
of the marketing and where it (T20) fits into international cricket, but
certainly from a players’ point of view it’s exciting to play,” said New
Zealand skipper Stephen Fleming of the new format.

Last T20
International meeting

March 7, 2021, Wellington

A century opening stand by Martin Guptill and Devon Conway
saw New Zealand clinch their Twenty20 series against Australia in Wellington.

Set a target of 143 for victory in the fifth and final
match, New Zealand claimed victory by seven wickets and took the series 3-2
with an emphatic 27 balls to spare.

After being comprehensively outplayed in games three and
four when batting second, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson knew he had to be
innovative to win the series after he lost the toss and was told to bowl first.

He put an emphasis on spin with his slow bowlers sending
down 12 overs, the most for New Zealand in a Twenty20 match, and they took four
of the eight wickets.

Ish Sodhi finished with 3-24 off his four overs, Hong
Kong-born Mark Chapman, bowling for the first time for New Zealand, took 1-9
off two and Mitchell Santner conceded only 21 runs from his four.

Guptill, who had been out of form going into the series,
silenced his critics with a masterful 71, including seven fours and four sixes,
while Conway contributed 36 with the pair putting on 106 for the first wicket.

Glenn Phillips blasted New Zealand home with five fours and
two sixes to be unbeaten on 34.

Matthew Wade top scored for the tourists with 44 while
skipper Aaron Finch contributed 36 and Marcus Stoinis made 24.

Author: desi123 is an online news portal that aims to provide the latest trendy news for Asians living in Asia and around the World.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *